Game-Changing Mods

Note: I am no professional coder or programmer, nor have I ever worked on a game. I am just a person who sees an opportunity for this game and wants to share it.

I also play Cities Skylines a lot, and I find it interesting how different games handle the modding community. ACEO for instance only has modding support for new contracts, which I find a downside to this well-executed game. I would love to see support for game-changing mods.

What I mean by game-changing mods: mods that implement new features, assets and mechanics. These mods could get rid of minor irritating things like the slow security post, but could also add new features like more options for the auto planner.

Ups from this idea:

• A more active community.
  • Freedom of implementing your own features without suggesting it as an idea.
  • Less work for the developers as more people would work on their on mod instead of suggesting an idea.
  • Personalizing the game; Get the features you like, leave those who you don’t like. You could make the game more silly by subscribing to silly mods or do exactly the opposite.
  • Realism: most of the ideas I see here are about adding more realism to the game.

Downs from this idea:

• Probably one of the hardest things to give support for, as you have to release the game code or something (I am no programmer or coder, as mentioned above)
  • If there would be no ‘‘test panel’’ for the mods, there would be a lot of ‘‘spam’’ mods (mods that don’t work)
  • Loads of mods = a more computer heavy game (to my experience).

That was my idea, if it is impossible, leave a reply (developer) and I will delete this post. If you have something else to say, also leave a reply!

Keep on Gaming, Suggesting and Helping, Tom.

3 Likes